Garments for the Beyond, or
The Memory of Art
Bai Yiluo’s Sculpture Series Fate No. 4 ( de | cn )

Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne, 2007-08-25 – 2007-10-20

"A man has only one death. That death may be as weighty as Mt. Tai, or it may be as light as a goose feather. The difference is only in how he made use of his life."
(Sima Qian, Han dynasty historian)

All humans are mortal—a fact which, across cultures and epochs, neither authority nor prosperity have been able to refute. However, the questions of "how" one dies and gets buried as well as ideas about what awaits us in the afterlife, are as multifarious as the life on this side. Religion, philosophy and art have been grappling with these essential questions since time immemorial. Beijing artist Bai Yiluo (b. 1968 in Luoyang, Henan province) thus moves along classic themes with his recent series of works entitled Fate. Weaving thousands of little photo portraits to a memento carpet, he created both two-dimensional and sculptural pieces over the past years. With the six-part sculpture series Fate No. 4, Bai Yiluo now—after more than half a decade—finally realized an old project of his: the material and esthetic transformation of a more than 2000 years old jade burial suit made for Chinese dignitaries into a ‘photographic sculpture’.

"After I had moved from my home town of Luoyang to Beijing, I was working in a photo shop. These tiny black-and-white photographs for I.D. cards were part of my daily business. And I knew right away that I wanted to do artwork with them as well. So when I was at a Beijing exhibition in 2000 looking at a historic gold-wired jade garment from the Han dynasty (206 BC–220 AD), I immediately had this mental image: I wanted to replace the thousands of little jade plaques connected by gold wire with these portrait photographs."

The Ritual of Making Art

As an autodidact, Bai Yiluo had already chosen the medium of photography before he moved to Beijing. Through a number of manually laborious procedures by which he transforms the pictures into his working material, he arrives at suspending the essentially detached character of photographing. This phenomenon is particularly evident in his pieces Flies (2001-2003) and People No. 1 (2001). Living in a suburb of Beijing, one of the daily chores of the artist was to combat the annoying flies which—seeming to appear from nowhere—would gather constantly in buzzing swarms. He then somehow had to remove the dead insects. Bai Yiluo turned this routine into an everyday ritual, collecting the dead flies not only in his apartment but also from around the house, arranging them on photographic paper and making "pictures". In this way he created large-format B/W photograms with an ornamental esthetic quality. While in Flies the ceremonial part of the artwork took place before the act of photographing, it is the other way around in People No. 1. Here Bai Yiluo took several thousand frontal black-and-white portraits in the working class environment of his hometown Luoyang and post-processed them—picture by picture—by separating the image held by the thin emulsion layer from the paper base, crumpling it and smoothing it again to then sew them together with red thread. The result is a surface of more than two by four meters showing a sheer, reticulately veined craquelé landscape of faces. These are countless people of all ages, with serious or smiling faces, open or closed eyes that we see before us. The cobweb of crumpling folds covers the portraits. The red thread joining them all together opens the way for the association of a ‘blood relationship’. What unites them in this work of art is their aura of vulnerability or even having actually been hurt. In reality, their connection in reality is the place where they live, in this case, Luoyang.

"To me Luoyang is associated with hard work in the factories, although nowadays many workers are jobless as well. It is a gloomy place. If I want to incorporate the faces of these people, I have to find a technique that adequately takes their fate into consideration".

In the years that followed, Bai Yiluo followed the topics touched upon in Flies and People No. 1 in an essayistic manner. As he emphasizes, he never abandoned the idea of using the form of the ancient jade burial suit in a work of art, although he was not quite sure of the implementation details for a while. In 2004, a first computer simulation was made under the title People No. 4. It took three more years until this virtual three-dimensionality took shape in a material sculpture with Fate No. 4. While Bai Yiluo called his first series, in which he worked with portrait photos, simply People, by titling his more recent works Shell (2004) and Fate (2005‑2007) he now signals a shift in perspective that moves from the concrete reference to everyday life to more existential issues.

From Jade Platelets to Portrait Photos

Ceremonial garments made of nephrite jade (nephrite is one of two minerals commonly called jade) used as death shrouds for deceased emperors, princes or influential ministers, were an invention of the Han era. In the Western Han dynasty (206-9 BC) not only the emperor but princes could also be buried in nephrite jade garments adorned with gold wire thread. Later, during the Eastern Han dynasty (25-220 AD), a hierarchical system was developed that clearly defined who deserved a burial garment of nephrite jade and what kind of thread it was allowed to contain. According to these rules, only emperors were allowed to don garments of nephrite jade with threads made of gold (jinlü yuyi), while princes and princesses were accorded silver and the emperor’s elder sisters were left with bronze wire. (1)

In the early civilizations of East Asia, jade was in high esteem for its robust qualities. The mineral which is difficult to machine was said to have the power of protecting a deceased person’s body from evil spirits but also from decomposition, it was even afforded qualities believed to aid in resurrection. It is in this context that the cult of jade burial suits (in Chinese: yuyi – nephrite garment, or yuxia/yujia – nephrite armor) should be considered. Made of thin jade platelets of varying shapes that were joined by gold, silver or bronze wire, these garments were tailored to fit the deceased person’s physique: a helmet-like headgear, a face mask, front and back parts of the torso, sleeves, legs, mittens and shoes. Among the most well-known archeological discoveries are the jade garments of prince Liu Sheng (deceased in 113 BC) and his wife Dou Wan. Their tomb which is 2700 cubic meters large and contained 2800 grave treasures was found in Hebei province in 1968. The king’s burial suit was made of 2498 jade plaques of which 2160 belonged to the queen. The way in which the labyrinth of burial chambers had been designed, as well as the tomb furnishings, indicates that at the time there might have been the idea of a life after death—though not for everyone. Mural paintings from the Han dynasty show dead dignitaries freely moving about in the Beyond and congregating with spirits and deities who appear only to immortals. However, none but those who had the ‘Mandate of Heaven’ could be considered immortal: not only on Earth did Chinese emperors and kings assert their singular claim to power but they postulated their right to the status of eternal rulers through burial cults such as the jade death shrouds and the palace-like tombs.

Bai Yiluo flattens out such intricate human hierarchy without further ado. It is not one particular prominent person set apart from the masses that the sculptures of Fate No. 4 intend to commemorate; instead they honor the Chinese people as a whole: they entered namelessly into the work but were rescued from oblivion—and even from the process of aging—by preserving their faces. This perspective, which removes individuals from the collective while fully respecting them in their distinctiveness, is enhanced by the fact that Bai Yiluo gives a new definition to the pool of portraits he works with. For where the pictures used in People No. 1 had been portraits of people that the artist felt he had something in common with because of shared background and life reality, the portraits for Fate were simply commissioned. In the Fate series, Bai Yiluo is not concerned with his personal horizon of experience but with a more elementary issue that is abstracted from the self. "Death is the most important question of life", the artist says. "And a question everybody has to confront."

On public squares in Luoyang where many people converge, a mobile photo booth was set up that collected several thousand portraits. These formed the basis of Fate No. 4. The original photographs were not used for the sculptures; reprints were used instead (using the giclee print technique). This also allows producing the different platelet sizes necessary for reconstructing the burial suit. All in all, Bai Yiluo uses five different formats: 2 x 3 cm, 2.5 x 3.5 cm, 3 x 4 cm, 3.5 x 4.5 cm and 4 x 5 cm, most of them rectangular, a small portion were rhombus-shaped or triangular. He follows his original historic model quite closely. Paralleling the production process of traditional jade burial suits, the individual portraits are interconnected by means of cross-stitched wire chosing copper wire as a material. This collective of portraits now form the surface of the sculptures of Fate No. 4. By making several sculptures of similar design, Bai Yiluo distances his artwork from the Han death shroud not only by way of surface composition—portrait photos instead of jade plaques—he also denies each single sculpture the status of a unique piece. Fate No. 4 raises an unequivocal objection against hierarchical human thinking. The people portrayed thus obtain a place in collective memory—each as an individual, and together as a proxy for all mankind.

"It was a very long process until I found a way to make my idea of the sculptures for Fate No. 4 become reality. Time and again, simple technical problems made me fail. You know that actually my medium of choice is photography, not sculpture. If I hadn’t had friends to support me, I might have thrown in the towel. The works realized in the last few years are in fact stages on the way to Fate No. 4. The jacket and the pants of Shell (2004) are already quite close. These garments protect a person as in real life—like a clam-shell, or a second skin. Through the portrait photos constituting the clothing fabric there is a tension between the inside and the outside. When looking at these historic jade burial suits, I was not so much interested in the person for whom this effort had been made. My perspective was rather the ‘Here and Now’: what will remain of us, of our lives, after we are dead?"

The Memory of Art

While the People series started with the concrete person and his or her unique fate and their connection to the collective of everyday fellow sufferers, the pieces in the Shell series already argue at a three-dimensional level, the portrait photos becoming material and (clothing) fabric. The pants and the jacket of Shell are hollow bodies. Both objects just stand there, stark and abandoned. Was there someone who wore them, will there ever be one? If he truly existed, there would be a clear power divide between him and the people on the portraits who are reduced to mere material. In this sense, the clothing shells of Shell are a reflection on man’s subject/object character. In Fate No. 4 Bai Yiluo also plays with this tense relation between the surface and the unseen. Where the ancient jade garment shrouded the body of the deceased, the artist sculpts a hollow body out of a photographic skin, as in Shell. However, the reconstructed basic form does not function as an ‘unknown quantity’, but by acting as a contrasting foil provides the very horizon of meaning. The series Fate No. 4 becomes an object of commemoration not in a retrospective, conservational sense, but as a look back ahead. As emphasized by the title, it asks the question about the elementary forces of human existence, about the destiny of man.

"Fate" in What Sense?

Let us assume that opinion pollsters asked people from various cultures, different ages and education levels whether or not they believe in the force of destiny. If so, how would they define this authority? Is it a personifiable entity, a god, or maybe a plurality of gods? Is it the power of heaven that is at work there, or rather an all-pervasive energy in the sense of a cosmic Qi? Are there opposing forces clearly distinct in essence that nonetheless are complementary parts of a higher-order unity, like yin and yang? Or is it the power of nature as an elemental force? Do spirits, demons and our ancestors have an impact on our lives and can they determine the time when we have to leave this world?

"If we don't know life, how can we know death?" (2)—with this rhetorical question China’s most important scholar Confucius (551-479 BC) managed to distract any inquisitive longing for knowledge about death (and what might come afterwards). While his wisdoms handed down in the Lun yu (Analects, or aphorisms) offer the most detailed pieces of advice with regard to daily coexistence, developing elaborate organizing principles and moral categories, they do not provide much help with the human desire for metaphysical contexts. Therefore one can easily grasp why the teachings of Daoism and Buddhism carried so much appeal in China. With their fantastic imagery and clearly determined conceptions of the Beyond—systems of heavens and hells, awards for good deeds and punishments for evil ones—death becomes a transition to another sphere, and the nothing in the sense of Nirvana is even a quite positive category. Even today these quite varying doctrines have their effect, and Confucian family ethics and the Daoist or Buddhist conceptions of the Beyond are not at all mutually exclusive. Bai Yiluo does not want to commit himself to any definition of destiny although he does believe that the life of man is predetermined to a certain extent. The artist confers a personal signature to his series in Fate No. 3 which technically combines the working method of Flies with the black-and-white portraits. On the picture scroll in upright format we see a crane whose body is formed by portrait photographs that were scanned for this work. The otherwise untreated ground shows five panels made up of pseudo-calligraphic ideograms.

"The crane is a subject taken from traditional Chinese ink-and-wash painting, a technique I also learned in my childhood and youth. The crane is a holy animal in Daoist paradise, often accompanying a deity. The pseudo-calligraphy—I tried to capture the shape of flies’ legs—is my personal reference to Chinese tradition, though only at the formal level: the ideograms cannot be deciphered any further."

The purely photographic pieces Fate No. 1 and Fate No. 2, with their unmistakable death-related symbolism of skeletons and skulls still emphasize the physical finiteness of human existence, but Fate No. 3 does leave some hope for an otherworldly form of continuation. In Fate No. 4 this longing is expressed as an esthetically mediated collective wish. While the sculptures formally refer to a period more than 2000 years in the past—thus presenting history as a continuum that our own lifetime fits in—on the content level they communicate a most humanist vision: the privileges for life after death which in imperial China were reserved to monarchs alone are now transformed into a more democratic afterlife.


1 Müller. S. (1994). Nephritgewand der Dou Wan. In: China. Eine Wiege der Weltkultur. 5000 Jahre Erfindungen und Entdeckungen. Mainz: Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum.

2 Wilhelm, R. (2005). Konfuzius: Gespräche (Lun-yü). München: C.H. Beck. S. 98.

Translation: Werner Richter

Ausstellungsansicht: Bai Yiluo, Fate No. 4, 2007
Ausstellungsansicht: Bai Yiluo
Fate No. 4, 2007
mixed media sculptures, fiberglass, copper wire, giclee prints, resin
each 215 x 83 x 33 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Fate No. 4, 2007
Bai Yiluo
Fate No. 4, 2007
mixed media sculptures, fiberglass, copper wire, giclee prints, resin
each 215 x 83 x 33 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Fate No. 4, 2007
Bai Yiluo
Fate No. 4, 2007
mixed media sculptures, fiberglass, copper wire, giclee prints, resin
each 215 x 83 x 33 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Detail Fate No. 4, 2007
Bai Yiluo
Detail Fate No. 4, 2007
mixed media sculptures, fiberglass, copper wire, giclee prints, resin
each 215 x 83 x 33 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Han dynasty burial suit of Liu Yinke, King of Chu
Han dynasty (206 BC–220 AD) burial suit of Liu Yinke, King of Chu made of jade plaques comparable to the burial suit of Lui Sheng, King Jin of Zhongshan.
Courtesy Xuzhou Museum, Province Jiangsu, China

Bai Yiluo, Fate No. 1, 2005
Bai Yiluo
Fate No. 1, 2005
c-print
127 x 170 cm (or 180 x 250 cm)
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Fate No. 3, 2005
Bai Yiluo
Fate No. 3, 2006
c-print
250 x 80 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Summertime No. 2, 2005
Bai Yiluo
Summertime No. 2, 2005
c-print
210 x 127 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Liu Lian, 2006
Bai Yiluo
Liu Lian, 2006
c-print
6 panels each 125 x 80 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Detail Liu Lian, 2006
Bai Yiluo
Detail Liu Lian, 2006
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Shell No. II, 2004
Bai Yiluo
Shell No. II, 2004
sculpture, b/w print
102 x 60 x 25 cm / 270 x 100 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Detail Shell No. II, 2004
Bai Yiluo
Detail Shell No. II, 2004
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Shell, 2004
Bai Yiluo
Shell, 2004
2 paper-sculptures
100 x 40 x 25 cm and 85 x 60 x 25 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Flies, 2003
Bai Yiluo
Flies, 2003
photogram
102 x 230 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Detail Flies, 2003
Bai Yiluo
Detail Flies, 2003
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, People No. 1, 2001
Bai Yiluo
People No. 1, 2001
photogram
250 x 500 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Detail People No. 1, 2001
Bai Yiluo
Detail People No. 1, 2001
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Die Gewänder des Jenseits oder
Das Gedächtnis der Kunst
Die Skulpturen-Serie Fate No. 4 von Bai Yiluo ( en | cn )

Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne, 2007-08-25 – 2007-10-20

„Jeder Mensch hat nur einen einzigen Tod. Er kann schwerer wiegen als der Berg Tai oder auch leichter sein als eine Gänsefeder. Der Unterschied besteht bloss darin, wie der Mensch sein Leben zu nutzen verstand.“
(Sima Qian, Historiker der Han-Dynastie)

Alle Menschen sind sterblich, an diesem Tatbestand konnten Kulturen und Zeiten übergreifend, weder Macht noch Reichtum rütteln. Das „Wie“ des Sterbens, der Bestattung und die Vorstellungen darüber, was den Menschen nach dem Ende des Lebens erwartet, sind hingegen genauso vielfältig wie das diesseitige Leben selbst. Seit jeher widmen sich Religion, Philosophie und Kunst diesen existentiellen Fragen. Der in Peking lebende Künstler Bai Yiluo (geb. 1968 in Luoyang, Provinz Henan) bewegt sich mit seiner Werkserie Fate somit auf klassischen Pfaden. Tausende kleiner Foto-Porträts durch Fäden zu einem Memento-Teppich verwebend, entstanden in den letzten Jahren verschiedene zweidimensionale und skulpturale Arbeiten. Mit der sechsteiligen Skulpturen-Serie Fate No. 4 fand nun – nach mehr als einem halben Jahrzehnt – die ursprüngliche Idee Bai Yiluos ihre Umsetzung: die materialästhetische Transformation des vor mehr als 2000 Jahren für chinesische Würdenträger angefertigten Jade-Totengewandes zu einer ‘fotografischen Skulptur’.

„Nachdem ich von meiner Heimatstadt Luoyang nach Peking gezogen war, arbeitete ich in einem Fotostudio. Diese kleinen S/W-Fotos für Ausweise usw. gehörten zu meinem Alltagsgeschäft. Mir war schnell klar, dass ich damit auch künstlerisch arbeiten wollte. Als ich dann 2000 in einer Pekinger Ausstellung das Goldfaden-Jade-Kleid aus der Han-Dynastie (206 v. Chr. – 220 n. Chr.) sah, stand sofort ein Bild vor meinen Augen: ich wollte die tausendfachen und mit einem Goldfaden verbundenen Jadeplättchen durch die besagten Foto-Porträts ersetzen.“

Das Ritual des Kunstschaffens

Als Autodidakt entschied sich Bai Yiluo bereits vor seinem Umzug nach Peking für das Medium der Fotografie. Durch manuell aufwendige Verfahren mit denen er die Fotografien zum bildnerischen Stoff seiner Werke macht, wird der eigentlich distanzierte Charakter des Fotografierens aufgehoben. Besonders augenscheinlich wird dieser Aspekt in den Arbeiten Flies (2001-2003) und People No. 1 (2001).

In einem Pekinger Vorort lebend, gehörte es zur täglichen Mühsal des Künstlers, gegen die sich scheinbar aus dem Nichts immer wieder zu surrenden Schwärmen zusammenrottenden Fliegen anzukämpfen und im gleichen Zuge die toten Tiere zu beseitigen. Bai Yiluo machte dieses Tun zum rituellen Teil seines Alltags, sammelte die Fliegen nicht nur in der Wohnung, sondern auch in seinem häuslichen Umfeld, ordnete sie auf Fotopapier und lichtete sie ab. Entstanden sind grossformatige S/W-Fotogramme mit ornamentaler Ästhetik. Fand der zeremonielle Teil des künstlerischen Tuns bei Flies vor dem Akt des Fotografierens statt, so verhält es sich bei People No. 1 umgekehrt. Hier sind es mehrere tausend frontal aufgenommene S/W-Porträts aus dem Arbeitermilieu seiner Heimatstadt Luoyang, die Bai Yiluo – Bild für Bild – nachbearbeitet, indem er die vorderste Bildschicht vom weissen Papiergrund ablöst, zerknittert, wieder glättet und mit einem roten Faden zusammennäht. Auf einer Fläche von mehr als zwei mal vier Metern erstreckt sich nun eine dünnhäutige, filigran-ädrige Craquelé-Landschaft aus Gesichtern. Wir sehen Menschen verschiedenen Alters, mit ernster oder lächelnder Miene, mit geöffneten oder geschlossenen Augen ins Angesicht. Spinnwebengleich überziehen die Knitterspuren die Porträtierten. Der sie verbindende rote Faden lässt eine Art ‘Blutsverwandschaft’ assoziieren. Was sie im Kunstwerk eint, ist eine Aura des Verletzlichen oder gar Verletzten. Was sie real verbindet, ist der Ort, an dem sie leben, in diesem Falle Luoyang.

„Mit Luoyang verbinde ich die harte Arbeit in den Fabriken, viele Leute sind aber auch arbeitslos. Es ist ein trister Ort. Wenn ich die Gesichter dieser Menschen in mein Werk aufnehme, muss ich eine Technik finden, die dem Schicksal dieser Menschen Rechnung trägt.“

Die in Flies und People No. 1 angelegten Themen verfolgt Bai Yiluo in den nächsten Jahren essayistisch weiter. Wie er im Gespräch betont, verlor er die Idee, die Form des altertümlichen Jade-Totengewandes künstlerisch aufzugreifen, nie aus den Augen, war sich aber über die Details der Umsetzung nicht im Klaren. 2004 entstand dann unter dem Titel People No. 4 eine erste Computersimulation. Es dauerte weitere drei Jahre bis mit Fate No. 4 diese virtuelle Dreidimensionalität zur materiellen Skulptur wurde. Nannte Bai Yiluo die erste Serie, in der er mit Porträt-Fotos arbeitete, noch schlicht People, so signalisiert er durch die Betitelung der neueren Arbeiten mit Shell (2004) und Fate (2005-2007) eine jeweilige Perspektiveverschiebung, die vom konkreten Alltagsbezug zu existentiellen Fragestellungen verläuft.

Vom Jade-Plättchen zum Foto-Porträt

Nephritgewänder (Nephrit gehört zu den Jade-Mineralien) als Totenbekleidung für verstorbene Kaiser, Prinzen oder verdienstvolle Minister sind eine Erfindung der Han-Zeit. In der westlichen Han-Zeit (206 – 9 v. Chr.) durften neben dem Kaiser auch Prinzen Nephritgewänder mit Golddrähten für die Bestattung verwenden. Erst in der östlichen Han-Zeit (25 – 220 n. Chr.) wurde ein hierarchisches System entwickelt, mit genauer Unterscheidung, wem ein Nephritgewand zustehe und welche Art von Drähten es haben solle. Danach durfte nur ein Kaiser ein Nephritgewand mit goldenen Drähten (jinlü yuyi) verwenden, Prinzen bzw. Prinzessinnen solche mit silbernen und ältere Schwestern des Kaisers solche mit bronzenen Drähten. (1)

Jade wurde in den Frühkulturen Ostasiens wegen seiner Zähigkeit hochgeschätzt. Man sprach dem schwer zu verarbeitenden Mineral zu, den Körper eines Verstorbenen vor bösen Geistern, aber auch vor Verwesung zu schützen, erhoffte sich sogar eine wiederbelebende Wirkung. Vor diesem Hintergrund ist der Kult der Jade-Totengewänder (chin. yuyi, Nephritgewand oder yuxia/yujia, Nephritpanzer) zu verstehen. Aus dünnen Jade-Plättchen verschiedener Formate, die man mit Drähten aus Gold, Silber oder Bronze verband, wurden die Gewänder entsprechend der Körperformen angefertigt: eine helmartige Kopfbedeckung, eine Gesichtsmaske, Vorder- und Rückenteil des Rumpfes, Ärmel, Hosenbeine, Fäustlinge und Schuhe. Zu den bekanntesten archäologischen Funden gehören die Jade-Gewänder des Königs Liu Sheng (gest. 113 v. Chr.) und seiner Frau Dou Wan. Das 2700 Kubikmeter grosse Grabgewölbe der beiden, in dem sich 2800 Grabbeigaben befanden, wurde 1968 in der Provinz Hebei gefunden. Das Totengewand des Königs umfasst 2498 Jadeplättchen, das der Königin 2160. Die Art und Weise, wie das Labyrinth aus Grabkammern angelegt wurde, und die Beigaben signalisieren, dass in der Vorstellung der Zeitgenossen das Leben nach dem Tode womöglich weiterging – allerdings nicht für jeden. Wandmalereien der Han-Zeit zeigen die toten Würdenträger, wie sie sich frei im Jenseits bewegen und dort auf Geister und Gottheiten treffen, die nur Unsterblichen erscheinen. Und als unsterblich galt nur, wer den ‘Auftrag des Himmels’ hatte. Nicht nur auf Erden beanspruchten Kaiser und Könige ihren singulären Machtanspruch, sie postulierten durch Begräbniskulte wie das Jade-Totenkleid und die palastähnlichen Grabanlagen einen Anspruch auf einen ewigen Herrscherstatus.

Bai Yiluo ebnet die von Menschenhand ersonnene Hierarchie kurzerhand ein. Nicht eines bestimmten und aus der Masse hervorgehobenen Menschen wird in den Skulpturen von Fate No. 4 gedacht; es sind die Menschen des Volkes, namenlos ins Werk aufgenommen, aber durch ihr Gesicht nicht nur dem Vergessen, sondern sogar dem Prozess des Alterns entrissen. Unterstrichen wird diese den Einzelnen im Kollektiv aufhebende, ihn in seiner Individualität aber durchaus respektierende Perspektive dadurch, dass Bai Yiluo den Pool an Porträts, mit denen er arbeitet neu definiert. Denn hatte es sich bei den Bildern von People No. 1 um Aufnahmen gehandelt, die im Arbeitsalltag des Künstlers entstanden waren, so gibt er die Porträts von Fate schlicht in Auftrag. In der Fate-Serie geht es Bai Yiluo nicht um den persönlichen Erfahrungshorizont, sondern um eine vom eigenen Selbst abstrahierende, grundsätzliche Fragestellung. „Der Tod ist die wichtigste Frage des Lebens“, so der Künstler. „Jeder Mensch muss sich mit dieser Frage auseinandersetzen.“

An Orten in Luoyang, wo sich erfahrungsgemäss viele Menschen treffen, entstehen mithilfe einer mobilen Foto-Kabine mehrere Tausend Porträts. Sie bilden den Grundstock von Fate No. 4. Für die Skulpturen werden aber nicht die Originale der Aufnahmen eingesetzt, sondern Nachdrucke (Giclee-Print-Technik). Dies ermöglicht zudem, die für den Nachbau des Totengewandes nötigen unterschiedlichen Grössen der Foto-Plättchen zu produzieren. Insgesamt verwendet Bai Yiluo fünf verschiedenen Formate 2 x 3 cm, 2.5 x 3.5 cm, 3 x 4 cm, 3.5 x 4.5 cm und 4 x 5 cm, die meisten rechteckig, ein kleinerer Teil rautenförmig oder dreieckig. Mit diesem Verfahren orientiert sich Bai Yiluo durchaus an der historischen Vorlage. Angelehnt an die Produktionsweise der traditionellen Jade-Totengewänder werden die einzelnen Porträts durch Draht-Kreuzstiche miteinander verbunden. Der Künstler entscheidet sich für einen Kupfer-Draht. Das so entstandene Porträt-Kollektiv bildet nun die Oberfläche der Skulpturen von Fate No. 4. Indem Bai Yiluo mehrere Skulpturen gleicher Machart produzieren lässt, setzt er sich nicht nur durch die Art der Oberflächengestaltung – Porträtfotos statt Jadeplättchen – von dem han-zeitlichen Totengewand ab, sondern verweigert der einzelnen Skulptur zudem den Status eines Unikates. In Fate No. 4 wird Einspruch erhoben gegen menschliches Hierarchiedenken. Den Porträtierten – jedem Einzelnen und ihnen zusammen als Stellvertreter für alle Menschen – wird so ein Platz im kollektiven Gedächtnis eingeräumt.

„Es war ein sehr langer Weg, bis ich eine Möglichkeit gefunden habe, die Idee zu den Skulpturen von Fate No. 4 in die Tat umzusetzen. Immer wieder scheiterte ich schlicht an der Technik. Eigentlich ist mein Medium ja die Fotografie und nicht die Skulptur. Hätte ich nicht Freunde gehabt, die mich unterstützten, ich hätte aufgegeben. Die in den letzten Jahren entstandenen Arbeiten sind eigentlich Etappen auf dem Weg zu Fate No. 4. Sehr nah dran sind bereits die Jacke und die Hose von Shell (2004). Die Kleidungsstücke schützen den Menschen im Leben – wie eine Muschelhülle, sind wie eine zweite Haut. Durch die Porträts als Stoff der Kleidung entsteht eine Spannung zwischen Innen und Aussen. Bei der Betrachtung der historischen Jade-Gewänder interessierte mich nicht die Person, für die dieser Aufwand betrieben worden ist. Meine Perspektive richtet sich auf das Hier und Jetzt. Was bleibt von uns, von unserem Leben, wenn wir tot sind?“

Das Gedächtnis der Kunst

War es in der People-Serie zunächst der konkrete Mensch, sein Einzelschicksal und seine Verbundenheit mit dem Kollektiv der Alltags- und Leidensgenossen, so argumentieren die Arbeiten der Shell-Serie bereits auf dreidimensionaler Ebene, werden die Porträt-Fotos zum Material, zum (Kleidungs-)Stoff. Die Hose und Jacke von Shell sind Hohlkörper. Starr und verlassen stehen beide Objekte im Raum. Gab es ihren Träger oder wird es ihn je geben? Und wenn es ihn gäbe, bestände zwischen ihm und den Porträtierten und zum Material Degradierten ein eindeutiges Machtgefälle. Die Kleidungshüllen von Shell sind in diesem Sinne Reflexionsflächen über den Subjekt- und Objektcharakter des Menschen. Auch in Fate No. 4 spielt Bai Yiluo mit diesem Spannungsverhältnis von Oberfläche und Verborgenem. Ummantelte das antike Jade-Kleid den Körper des Verstorbenen, so gestaltet der Künstler mit seinen Skulpturen einen Hohlkörper wie in Shell. Die nachgebaute Grundform fungiert aber nicht als ‘unbeschriebenes Blatt’, sondern stellt als Kontrastfolie erst den eigentlichen Bedeutungshorizont her. Die Serie Fate No. 4 wird zum Erinnerungsobjekt, allerdings nicht in retrospektiver, konservatorischer Hinsicht, sondern als ein Blick zurück nach vorn. Durch den Titel pointiert stellt sich die Frage nach den elementaren Grundfesten der menschlichen Existenz, nach dem Schicksal des Menschen.

Was heisst hier Schicksal?

Stellen wir uns vor, Demoskopen würden Menschen aus verschiedenen Kulturen, unterschiedlichen Alters und Bildungsniveaus fragen, ob sie an die Wirkmacht des Schicksals glaubten, und wenn ja, wie sie diese Instanz definieren würden. Handelt es sich dabei um eine personifizierbare Grösse, einen Gott, oder gar Götter? Wirkt in allem die Macht des Himmels oder eine alles durchdringende Energie im Sinne des kosmischen Qi? Sind es gegensätzliche, wesenhaft klar unterschiedene Kräfte, die aber dennoch Teile eines übergeordneten Ganzen sind, wie Ying und Yang? Oder ist es die Macht der Natur als Urgewalt? Wirken Ahnen, Geister und Dämonen auf unserer Leben ein und bestimmen den Zeitpunkt, wann wir diese Erde verlassen müssen?

„Wenn man noch nicht das Leben kennt, wie sollte man den Tod kennen?“ (2), mit dieser rhetorischen Frage lässt Chinas wichtigster Gelehrte Konfuzius (551 – 479 v. Chr.) jegliche Sehnsucht nach einem Wissen über den Tod (und was danach kommen könnte) ins Leere laufen. Geben seine im Lun-yü (Gespräche) überlieferten Leitsätze für eine harmonische Gesellschaft höchst detaillierte Ratschläge in Bezug auf das tägliche Miteinander und entwickeln ausgefeilte Ordnungsstrukturen und moralische Kategorien, so bieten sie dem Menschen mit seinem Bedürfnis nach einem metaphysischen Sinnzusammenhang keinen Halt. Nachvollziehbar wird, warum die Lehren des Daoismus und Buddhismus auf so grosses Interesse in China stiessen. Mit fantastischem Bilderreichtum und klar vorgezeichneten Jenseitsvorstellungen – Systeme aus Himmeln und Höllen; Belohnungen für die guten, Bestrafungen für die schlechten Taten – wird der Tod zu einem Übergang in eine andere Sphäre, wird das Nichts im Sinne des Nirwana zu einer gar positiven Kategorie. Bis heute wirken diese unterschiedlichen Lehren weiter, schliessen sich konfuzianische Familienethik und daoistisches oder buddhistisches Jenseits nicht aus. Bai Yiluo möchte sich nicht auf eine bestimmte Definition von Schicksal festlegen, glaubt aber schon, dass das Leben des Menschen in gewissem Masse vorbestimmt ist. Eine persönliche Signatur verleiht der Künstler seiner Serie in Fate No. 3, das technisch die Arbeitsweise von Flies mit den S/W-Porträts kombiniert. Auf einem Bildrollen-Hochformat sehen wir einen Storch, dessen Körper aus Porträt-Fotos gebildet wird, die für diese Arbeit eingescannt wurden. Auf dem ansonsten unbehandelten Untergrund finden sich fünf Felder aus pseudo-kalligrafischen Zeichen.

„Der Storch ist ein Motiv aus der traditionellen chinesischen Tuschemalerei. Auch ich habe diese Technik in meiner Kindheit und Jugend gelernt. Der Storch ist ein heiliges Tier im daoistischen Paradies, der Begleiter einer Gottheit. Mit den pseudo-kalligrafischen Zeichen – ich habe hier die Form von Fliegenbeinen aufgenommen – beziehe ich mich auf die chinesische Tradition, aber eben nur formal. Die Zeichen sind nicht mehr lesbar.“

Betonen die Fotoarbeiten Fate No. 1 und Fate No. 2 mit ihrer eindeutigen Todessymbolik von Skelett und Totenkopf die körperliche Endlichkeit des menschlichen Daseins, so lässt Fate No. 3 durchaus auf eine jenseitige Existenzform hoffen. In Fate No. 4 wird diese Sehnsucht als ein ästhetisch vermittelter Kollektivwunsch artikuliert. Während die Skulpturen der Form nach auf einen Zeitraum rekurrieren, der mehr als 2000 Jahre zurück liegt – Geschichte also als Kontinuum vorgestellt wird, in das sich die eigene Lebenszeit einfügt –, so formulieren sie auf der Gehaltsebene eine humanistische Vision: die im kaiserzeitlichen China Monarchen vorbehaltenen Privilegien für ein Leben nach dem Tod werden in ein demokratisches Jenseits transformiert.


1 Müller. S. (1994). Nephritgewand der Dou Wan. In: China. Eine Wiege der Weltkultur. 5000 Jahre Erfindungen und Entdeckungen. Mainz: Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum.

2 Wilhelm, R. (2005). Konfuzius: Gespräche (Lun-yü). München: C.H. Beck. S. 98.

Ausstellungsansicht: Bai Yiluo, Fate No. 4, 2007
Ausstellungsansicht: Bai Yiluo
Fate No. 4, 2007
mixed media sculptures, fiberglass, copper wire, giclee prints, resin
each 215 x 83 x 33 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Fate No. 4, 2007
Bai Yiluo
Fate No. 4, 2007
mixed media sculptures, fiberglass, copper wire, giclee prints, resin
each 215 x 83 x 33 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Fate No. 4, 2007
Bai Yiluo
Fate No. 4, 2007
mixed media sculptures, fiberglass, copper wire, giclee prints, resin
each 215 x 83 x 33 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Detail Fate No. 4, 2007
Bai Yiluo
Detail Fate No. 4, 2007
mixed media sculptures, fiberglass, copper wire, giclee prints, resin
each 215 x 83 x 33 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Han dynasty burial suit of Liu Yinke, King of Chu
Han dynasty (206 BC–220 AD) burial suit of Liu Yinke, King of Chu made of jade plaques comparable to the burial suit of Lui Sheng, King Jin of Zhongshan.
Courtesy Xuzhou Museum, Province Jiangsu, China

Bai Yiluo, Fate No. 1, 2005
Bai Yiluo
Fate No. 1, 2005
c-print
127 x 170 cm (or 180 x 250 cm)
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Fate No. 3, 2005
Bai Yiluo
Fate No. 3, 2006
c-print
250 x 80 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Summertime No. 2, 2005
Bai Yiluo
Summertime No. 2, 2005
c-print
210 x 127 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Liu Lian, 2006
Bai Yiluo
Liu Lian, 2006
c-print
6 panels each 125 x 80 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Detail Liu Lian, 2006
Bai Yiluo
Detail Liu Lian, 2006
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Shell No. II, 2004
Bai Yiluo
Shell No. II, 2004
sculpture, b/w print
102 x 60 x 25 cm / 270 x 100 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Detail Shell No. II, 2004
Bai Yiluo
Detail Shell No. II, 2004
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Shell, 2004
Bai Yiluo
Shell, 2004
2 paper-sculptures
100 x 40 x 25 cm and 85 x 60 x 25 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Flies, 2003
Bai Yiluo
Flies, 2003
photogram
102 x 230 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Detail Flies, 2003
Bai Yiluo
Detail Flies, 2003
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, People No. 1, 2001
Bai Yiluo
People No. 1, 2001
photogram
250 x 500 cm
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne

Bai Yiluo, Detail People No. 1, 2001
Bai Yiluo
Detail People No. 1, 2001
Courtesy Galerie Urs Meile, Beijing-Lucerne